2017 Member Events

4/10/17 – MSRA at GSTA 61st ROD AND CUSTOM SPECTACULAR – April 8 – 9th
What a great weekend at GSTA! The MSRA display was well represented with 10 beautiful cars! Dave Zallar, Tom Vollbrecht, Sr., Al Lucas, John Thorpe, Bill Halbrehder, Dale Scherber, Dick Clemmer, Brian Sjodin, Russ Peterson with his Street Rod of the Year, and Lon Burris with his Custom of the Year. Of the 10 cars in the MSRA display, 9 cars received awards. Thank you to Dave Lemke, Dick Kinnan, Tom Vollbrecht, Jr., the members who brought their cars, and all the members who helped set up, work the booth, and tear down. Congratulations to all the award winners! Great job everyone!

4/10/17 – MSRA at PRIME STEEL Car Show, Grand Forks, ND – April 8-9th.
From Dale Sohlstrom: Three Outstate shows in three weekends! MSRA finished up our third display this weekend in Grand Forks at the Prime Steel Show. MSRA was represented by Lynnet and Gerry Swaser with Lynnet’s ’71 Challenger (A one owner car she bought new in ’71), Denny and Linda West with their 409 powered ’62 Chevy, and Mike Reilly, who showed his customized ’41 Chevy. We all took turns working our display table, pitching Back to the 50s and promoting all things MSRA. We had a great time, and as usual, met many new friends. Thanks to all the members of the Prime Steel for producing this fine show!

4/3/17 – MSRA at TOPPER’S, Fargo, ND – April 1 -2nd
From Dale Sohlstrom, MSRA Outstate Rep: We had a great time at the Toppers again this year. Two of our MSRA members drove their street rods to Fargo and entered them in the show. Jerry Forness drove his ’47 Ford convertible, and Ken Ingram drove his ’37 Buick and pulling a matching custom trailer. Both guys, from the southern suburbs of the Twin Cities, had more than 250 miles driven to get to Fargo. It’s the stuff adventures are made from. Also in the MSRA display was the 2016 Custom of the Year, Lon Burris wth his ’49 Chev convertible; Jerry Forness brought his  ’47 Ford convertible, Eugene Vik showed his ’54 Mercury 2door hardtop, and Oscar Swenson displayed a ’50 Ford Coupe. A special thank you to these five guys and their cars – they made a beautiful display for MSRA.

Thank you to the members who volunteered at the MSRA booth to pitch – discuss – or answer questions about  the Scholarship Foundation, the Legislative Committee, and of course, Back to the 50’s.

Thank you to Dale Sohlstrom and the MSRA volunteers who helped set up/tear down and worked at the booth.

3/24/17 – MSRA at MOTORHEAD MADNESS, Duluth, MN – Marh 24-25th
From Dale Sohlstrom, MSRA Outstate Rep:  We had a great showing of some excellent MSRA vehicles at the 49th Annual Motorhead Madness at the DECC in Duluth. Members in our display went away from the show winning many awards, and our display won the Best Club Display award! MSRA members that were part of the MSRA display and won special awards at Motorhead Madness are:
Brian and Deb Sjodin – Street Achievement – Street Machine;
Lon Burris – Magnificent 7, and Street Achievement – Custom;
Ken Ingram – Magnificent 7, and Outstanding Rod;
Brad Beier – Magnificent 7, and Outstanding Nostalgic Rod;
Ron Dvoracek – Magnificent 7;
Gerry Broman – Magnificent 7, and Best Rod.
Five out of the Magnificent 7 were in the MSRA display!! Congratulations to all!

Thanks to Russ Peterson, Lon Burris, Gerry Broman, Brian Sjodin, Brad Beier, Jim and Mary Green, Ken Ingram, Jim Finn, John Hunker, Jack Hunker, Adam Landwehr, Ron Dvoracek, and Dave LeMieur for showing your vehicles!

Thank you to Dale Sohlstrom and the MSRA volunteers who helped set up/tear down and worked at the booth.

3/17/17 – MSRA at WORLD OF WHEELS. Mnneapolis, MN – March 17-19
NGRATULATIONS!! The MSRA committee, and the members who displayed their cars, have a lot to be proud about! Each car in the display received an award in their class! MSRA received the award for Best Club Display! CONGRATULATIONS!

Thank you to our members who had their cars on display: Lon Burris, Russ Peterson,  Butch Pream, Doug Boettcher, Terry Stade, Gordon Berres, Jerry Forness,  Terry Wold, Rog Vorwerk, and Art Pavlish. Thank you to the volunteers who took care of the MSRA booth answering questions, taking memberships, and talking about this year’s Back To Te 50’s! Thank you to committee coordinators Tom Vollbrecht, Jr., and Dave Lemke; committee members Brent Alpert and Ken Ingram;  the Set up crew:Dave Zallar,  Bruce Olson,  John Thorpe,  David Lemke,  Ken Ingram,  Gary Wedl,  and Bob Van Canneyt; and the members who shared some of their photos from the show. Photo credits given to: Fran Stade, Terry Wold, Jerry Forness, Ted Platz, Larry Aus, Marne Lemke, and Rog Vorwerk.

1/29/17 – The Winter Awards Banquet was held on Sat., Jan 28th. It was an evening filled with Friends + Food + Fun + Fellowship. The Car Of The Year winners were announced, and the 2017 Board of Directors introduced. A special part of the evening was the launch of MSRA’s 50th Anniversary year long celebration and honoring the Charter Members.

To view all nominated COY click here.

MSRA BOARD: Paul Swanson, President; Linda Lucas, Secretary; Board Members: Ken Ingram, Tom Vollbrecht, Jr., Jim Harvey, Ted Jacobson, and Joe Karpowicz.

 Thank you to Tom and Judy Vollbrecht, Tom Vollbrecht, Jr. and their entire committee for coordinating MSRA’s most prestigious event; and a special thank you to the 50th Anniversary Committee for all their work in making 2017 a year of celebration for MSRA’s 50th Anniversary!

Brief 17 second video from Banquet

Copyright © 2016 Minnesota Street Rod Association